Nowadays, mass media have a profound impact on shaping people’s idea. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that mass media has become an indispensable part in a daily basis, because it not only facilitates the interaction between people in a more convenient way but it is also a useful aid to shaping people’s idea. In my viewpoint, I strongly agree with this perspective due to some aspects which will be discussed in the essay below.

On the one hand, there are two prime reasons why mass media almost occupies a monopoly position on information transmission as a milestone. The fundamental reason is that mass media comprises both printed format and digital format which are widely available today. As a result, citizens have a chance to expose to the news in a more convenient way thanks to the ubiquity of mass media. However, if people become more familiar with it, they will make decisions based on media. Furthermore, mass media also exerts a powerful influence on cultures. It seems to be essential to narrow the gap between many nations around the world and the development of globalization. For example, individuals can discover the cultural uniqueness of other countries through televisions or social networking websites currently. Therefore, they may imitate what other do.

On the other hand, in spite of the fact that mass media encompasses a significant amount of convincing information, many people are still skeptical about its accuracy. For instance, advertisements contain a dozen of information which can be distorted, exaggerated or even fabricated from the truth. Therefore, many people have a habit of checking and analyzing information sources before believe in the public orientation.

In conclusion, I hold a strong belief that people’s idea these days is relying on mass media is undeniable and the local politicians should figure out some viable solutions to mitigate this trend.