Nowadays, mass media have a profound impact on shaping people’s idea. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that mass media has become an indispensable part in our daily life. It does not only broaden the scope of knowledge of people but it is also a useful tool to control the way people think. In my viewpoint, I am convinced with this opinion for several reasons which will be discussed in the essay below.

On the one hand, there are two prime reasons behind the dominance of mass media in the process of public orientation. The fundamental one is its ubiquity. The fact that mass media comprises both printed and digital formats such as televisions, billboards and magazines has allowed them to be present everywhere. As a result, messages delivered by them can become ingrained in us and ultimately influence our ideas and beliefs even though we are not aware of them. If people become more familiar with it, they will eventually believe anything the reporters write in their articles, regardless of what they initially think. For example, many people are easily exposed to mass media on a daily basis, thus they may be influenced by surrounding media to a certain extent.

On the other hand, in spite of the fact that mass media encompasses a significant amount of convincing information, many people are still skeptical about its accuracy, making their ideas immune to these sources of information. For instance, advertisements contain dozens of information which can be distorted, exaggerated or even fabricated. Therefore, many people have a habit of checking and analyzing information sources before believe in what mass media provides.

In conclusion, I hold a strong belief that people’s ideas these days are affected by mass media and the local authorities should figure out some viable solutions to mitigate the impact of mass media on their citizens' opinions.