Nowadays, most large companies operate multi-nationally. To what extent should those companies have responsibility towards local communities in which they operate?

Since few decades ago, countless conglomerate companies have been oprerating multiflexing business all over the world. They earn enormous amount of money from other countries. While some believe that these companies have obligation about local communities. I partially agree this given statement due to some reason and example which would explored in following paragraphs.

On the one hand, they should contribute financial aid for the nations especially where the country have less infra structure. Some international companies help to build basic amenities such as bridge, school and hospital. These companies continously contribute education and job markets. For example, Hyundai company which manufatures cars built express way in the Philippines 20 years ago, then traffic flow have become faster and smoother. Furthermore, the company take some portion of express way fees. This can be a good example of coperate social responsibility of companies.

On the one hand, the degree of responsibility should be limited because businesses must make money in order to survive in a competitive world. If a company is unable to pay its bills or meet the changing needs of customers, any concerns about social responsibilities become irrelevant. In other words, a company can only make a positive contribution to society if it is in good financial health. Therefore, it must guarantee its work productivity first.. They have need to invest in improvements and innovations if they wish to remain competitive rather than helping local communities.

Taking everything into account, multinational companies with good reputation and high revenues should make their contribution as much as possible, whereas it unreasonable to force other less successful or well-known ones fulfill this responsibility.