Nowadays online shopping becomes more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give your reasons and examples.

Online shopping nowadays is one of the most popular ways to make purchases, but it is not something that everyone is comfortable doing .As with most thing, there are positive and negatives associated with this approach to shopping. In this essay, I am going to examine both sides of the phenomenon.

On the on hand, the advantages of online shopping are plentiful. The most obvious one is that shopping online can be very convenient for busy people. For example, customers can shop any time from their home or office or any other location in which they have access to a computer, tablet device or Smartphone. As a result .people don not take time out of their day or evening to go to local stores in person. Moreover, another benefit of shopping online which is enjoyed by many people is the ease of comparison shopping. For instance, customers can compare offering and pricing at different stores by using the internet with a simple click on their electronic devices. Therefore, people do not have to run from one store to another to seek for products they want, and they can save their precious time and gasoline by purchasing online.

On the other hand, there are drawbacks of online shopping that consumers should not ignore. Firstly, customers do not have the option to test or touch the product before its delivery. To be more specific, unlike buying at a retail store, people can only observe the good from pictures or the description. However, with some merchandises like clothing, pillows and furniture, it can be hard to judge the quality without hands-on contact. Secondly, it takes days to receive the items. When customers shop in an actual store, they are able to use the product instantly after purchasing it. However, online shopping requires patience to wait for the item to arrive at home about 2 to 3 days or even longer. This is very impractical when customers need something urgently.

In conclusion people should consider the cons and pros of online shopping carefully; therefore they can make a wise decision about what is best for them.