Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed?

What is the reason for doing so?

Is it a positive or a negative development?

The issue of strict parenting has always been highly debatable in all the societies. It is claimed that modern children experience excessive tension from parents to achieve success in their lives. I believe there are various reasons for such parental behavior, however, I find this tendency to be negative.

I am sure that the primary reason why youngsters are under extreme pressure is their parents' life experience. It means that many adults desire prosperous future for their offspring and they are convinced that competency in diverse spheres is the key to success. Due to this, parents are severely concerned about their children's academic performance. As a result, they make youngsters study hard or do sport to develop discipline. Thus, children are often pressured by their own parents who force them to indulge in various activities.

I believe that such relationship between parents and children may negatively influence mental health of the latter. This is because young people are prone to stress, being involved in diverse activities that do not bring any pleasure to them. Many parents are over worried that their offspring will not succeed in the future, that is why children are usually deprived of rest and recreation. According to a social survey conducted by the Faculty of Psychology in HSE among 100 high school students, about 30% of teenagers suffer from various mental disorders due to lack of leisure activities. Thereby, enforcing children to achieve success could be detrimental for their psychological health.

Taking everything into account, even though extra control and enforcement are considered to be manifestation of parental care, I believe that such educational approach unfavorably affects mental health of minors.