The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?

The question regarding the governmental interference in people’s life has always been highly debatable in all the societies. It is argued that the government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. I totally agree with this statement and believe that the discussed initiative influences human beings in society.

Firstly, cigarettes affect not only smokers, but also people in close proximity. This is because toxic substances contained in a cigarette pose a huge threat to people’s health owing to the fact that nicotine is a highly addictive and harmful chemical. Therefore, inhaling the cigarette smoke is considered harmful for a person caring about their health. For example, according to a study conducted by the Russian University of Medicine, 75% of family members of smokers developed chronic diseases within 15 years of passive smoking. Thus, smokers must use specially-designated places for consuming nicotine.

Secondly, smoking people generate bad smell around them. This means that person following smoker or standing next to can’t enjoy fresh air. Moreover, this fact can influence negatively on communications between people because non-smokers will have to frown or turn away from the interlocutor. According to communication theory, unpleasant smell is one of the main factors of bad conversation. In other words, people do not have to consume cigarettes in public places if they want to make a business or impress a non-smoking person.

In conclusion, considering the facts that smokers affect other people by toxic substances containing in smoke and bad smell of cigarettes, the government should ban smoking in public places.