Nowadays, people always throw the old things away when they buy new things, some people claim that the broken things should be repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomennon? What effects this phenomennon leads to?

In the modern world, among a number of issues people have to deal with, environmental pollution is one of them and along with it arises something more specific - malfunctioned and used items are frequently discarded or substituted with new ones instead of replacement or reuse. Within the scope of this writing, a number of reasons will be discussed and from then impacts will be mentioned.

As the beginning part of this discussion, causes are worth mentioning initially. In this way, we can see that advances in technology increase need of purchase of customers. In detail, most of new products, nowadays, are more modern and long-lasting, which makes people want to buy them rather than repairing broken items to use again. For example, smartphone manufacturers continually bring to market new products with great designs and outstanding features. Some people who do not want to be outdated have to follow this trend and buy new smart phones although their phone are still working quite well. Additionally, the cause to this matter can be found in the fact that the problem is caused by consumerism. Specifically, advertisements encourage buyers to consume goods with promotion and home warranty. To illustrate, when new semester is coming, FPT shops usually have promotion program for freshmen and the shop is also ready to provide free guarantees. Therefore, most students easily decide to buy a new laptop for study instead of reusing an old laptop. Lastly, we can see that population growth makes a lot of young men have a tendency to buy smart furniture to optimize the living space. Take an example, using a smart bed which can be folded up simply is the most effective solution because this can help a family save living space with ensuring convenience in a small apartment.

There will undoubtedly be some negative consequences if people always purchase new goods without making use of old things. This is to say, this phenomenon causes environmental pollution. When removing the old things, it means that people will throw away a number of rubbish to the environment. The amount of garbage discharged into the environment is raising. Furthermore, the more factories will be established to product merchandise, the more pollutant will be released. There can be a rise in the number of carbon footprint emitted into the nature, which can definitely the current climate change. These results in human's illness such as cancers or lung problems. In addition, a look further into other consequences for natural resources. This is to say, people have to exploit a big proportion of metal such as lead, copper, coal... in order to develop the industry.

In conclusion, some causes of this problem can be identified and the serious effects on society must not be underestimated.