Nowadays people buy a lot of things even though they don’t really need them. Why is it happening, in your opinion? Is it a positive or negative trend for the individual and the society?

Lifestyle has undergone dramatic changes over a couple of decades. Presently, majority of people have materialistic attitudes and they tend to buy things unnecessarily without considering their needs and requirements. Here, I would like to account for reasons, positives and negatives of this phenomenon.

There are manifold reasons behind this happening. First and foremost, advertisements play a phenomenal role to encourage people towards unnecessary shopping. To demonstrate, nowadays people watch variety of adverts that are endorsed by their favourite celebrities. As a result, they get influenced to buy things whether they need or not. What is more, marketing strategies of companies also tempt people towards shopping for latest consumer durables. To be specific, exciting offers such as buy one get one free, gorgeous packaging, free gifts and special offers given by enterprises allure people towards buying things. Hence, people are psyched up by adverts to do shopping for trivial things.

There are manifold benefits of this trend. Firstly, at present, people buy a wide range of household things such as electronic gadgets, kitchen items, clothes, foot wears and so on. Hence, they can uplift the standard of living by purchasing latest and exclusive stuff even it is less in use. What is more, business of commercial sector is mushrooming under the influence of unnecessary shopping. For instance, most of people spend lavishly on a large number of goods and they do not think about the price or their financial budget. Hence, corporate sector is rolling in cash because of this trend. On the contrary, it has darker side too.

To set in, excessive consumerism is leading to the problem of rubbish these days. To justify, most of household things are replaced frequently by the new stuff. more and more use of goods is leading to rise in the production of waste material. A massive number of things are discarded and thrown to landfill sites. Thus, the problem of rubbish is on the elevation and it has become a worrying concern for ecology. Furthermore, people are becoming spendthrift as they believe in buying things which they may not need in daily life.

To recapitulate, shopping has become part and parcel of our lives. Undeniably, buying things in excess has few merits. However, the negative results of this trend outweigh positives.