Nowadays people live longer after they retire.

How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

The sociologists stand that the average duration of the period of living of the pensioners have increased. This, probably, has an impact on both individuals in particular and the rest part of the society in general, so the question arises on whether any measures should be undertaken.

At the first glance, the positive effect is obvious, while the elder generation provides a strong support to young families as they can help to raise children. Giving the parent the opportunity to continue working, they also improve family well-being because there is no need to pay to a babysitter. In this case, it seems that the trend mentioned is a great advantage both for individual family’s welfare and the social system, so nothing should be assumed.

On the other hand, there is also a negative effect of this situation. First of all, it was proved by the neurobiologists that retirement is a harmful factor, while the early retirement launches the degradation mechanisms. It happens because the laziness in a part of essence of everybody’s personality and people tend to stop their intellectual activities as they stop working. This may lead to several diseases and disability. Authorities are now attempting the first steps in implementation of active aging programs with educational and entertainment facilities to prevent dementia.

Mulling over the reason mentioned above, one more problem arises. The increase in number of ill, disabled and retired ones has sharp consequences on the economy of health care system, causing an increase in the tax burden on the employed ones. To provide this impact the funding system needs to be reexamined and restructured in general. Aimed at the repartition of the charges, the new system should take into consideration the proportion of retired and employed people, effective investment of the existing funds and the participation of state in attracting additional funding.

To summarize, the problem is connected with not only the duration but also the quality of life of retired people and the government should take measures to minimize the impact on the life of society.