Nowadays people live longer after they retire.

How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

It is argued that the average life expectancy after retirement has increased. Irrespective of the reasons for such a phenomenon, the implication is that this trend has a positive and negative impact on both the retirees and society, so the question is what measures should be taken to handle the downside.

On the one hand, the opportunities the trend offers are obvious. The elderly can provide support to their children by babysitting and by giving young families the opportunity to continue working, hence contributing to the extended family’s well-being. In this case, it seems that the trend is a great advantage for both the individual family’s welfare and the social system.

On the other hand, the threats the tendency poses are also clear. Every rose has its thorn, and longer lives happen to create pressure for Social Security. The main problem is the increasingly high number of persons reaching retirement age compared with the number of active workers. Most of young people complete their education in their early 20s, work for 40 years and retire at the age of 62. According to the statistics, governments invest in their development around 33% of their lives contributing to its income for the remaining 67%. If governments follow the same strategy, then new generation will need to work for 48 years and retire at the age of 68. This will influence how they plan their lives, educations and careers, which will have various social implications.

Further mulling over the downside, we should admit that the increase in the number of the ill and the disabled may have dire consequences on the economy of health care system, causing an increase in the tax burden on the employed ones. To provide this impact, the funding system needs to be reexamined and restructured in general. Aimed at the repartition of the charges, the new system should take into consideration the proportion of retired and employed people, effective investment of the existing funds and the participation of state in attracting additional funding.

To summarize, it appears that the problem is connected not only with the span of life but also with its life of retired people and the government should take measures to minimize the negative impact of each and every.