Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a widespread opinion nowadays that technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. A lot of academical research has been done recently to explore this topic in detail by scientists, psychologists and professors from all over the world. To a certain extent, it can be true: some recent researchers of a Russian State University claim that children who tend to spend their spare time playing computer games or watching television instead of spending more time in the “real life” activities tend to show weaker interpersonal skills and act in a more straightforward way in the academic tests provided during the studies. However, the key point is the understanding of the term “creativeness” in a right way. And if we consider this issue from another’s perspective, we can assume that new technology and the wide access to it of children from all over the world can contribute to the world’s creativeness in a most breathtaking and tremendous way.

Traditional academic tests make conclusions about the creativity of children from the traditional tests elaborated some years or even decades ago. They eventually can show the advantage of children less attracted by technology in coping with certain problems or cases in study. On this occasion the way of thinking and theorizing of “technological” children can show some points of weaknesses in terms of diversity and imagination.

Equally important, there is a risk to become virtuality dependent for a child spending too much time with modern gadgets. Children’s neurological system is more liable and vulnerable than that of an adult and sometimes children become oblivious to their surroundings, to reality itself, and tools start making rules for them, whereas it should be the other way round.

Nonetheless, it would be rash to conclude that the technology cannot enhance creativity and help children to develop their skills and imagination. A prime example of the advantage that technology brings all over the world is the free access to the resources and information for the children who stood no chance even a couple of decades ago to get to learn the things they can get access to now. A lot of free online courses, virtual museum tours, the access to world’s cultural heritage can boost children’s creativity, inspire them and show the path that one can take. Another important gift that technology brings is the incredible opportunities to create for disabled children from all over the world. The new tools and programs now allow to draw, construct, design, invent and create in the most fascinating way, giving equal chances to those originally left behind.

In the final analysis, it appears that technology can be both the enemy and the main ally. It can make the life of our children full of opportunities and give them tools to create a world of their dreams or conversely drag them away from the reality in the utopian virtual world, taking control of their desires and depriving them of their best qualities and competences.