Nowadays people live longer after they retire.
How does this affect individuals and society?
What can be done about this?
Nowadays, people living after retirement longer and longer in comparison to the past. This part of life that
continues in retirement poses a number of problems in association with individuals and society which
could be alleviated to some extent by taking into account some measures by governments.
In the beginning, living longer in retirement status, at least, can face a conflict with younger generations
which appears in the difference of lifestyles so that raises disputes. For example, the younger generation
may have a tendency to hosting loud parties or getting back late at home in contrast to the elderly that
prefer to live a quiet and regular life. Furthermore, people in retirement are struggling with social and
medical expenses. The matter of fact is that without a little doubt, living costs tremendously rising by
aging. For instance, people in average life expectancy could not afford their medical expenses because
neither health insurance nor any type of insurance can cover their costs while they’re more in need by
getting older due to any type of health disease while they’re negligible for special discounts. If there had
some conscious and potential plans, it would have a pleasant retirement life.
In order to tackle problems, I contend that government has to take into account some measures to cope
with problems and take away the strain on older people who are in need more and vulnerable deserve
special services. For instance, in my country, if the government sets aside funds and some special
discounts like fully medical supports, they could live separately of individuals independently and do their
stuff while there is no worry about medical expenses.
In conclusion, the government by anticipating average life expectancy and take an action to take down
these tensions, many of the most potential problems that the elderly are encountered may be countered.