nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants why do you think people waste food what can be done to reduce the amount of food that throw away

It is true that a huge amount of food purchased from stores and food service outlets has been irresponsibly disposed of by individuals these days. In my opinion, the higher standard of living and the lower price of food have led to this tendency and several effective solutions can be taken by both the government and consumers to tackle the problem.

To commence with, there are two fundamental reasons why throw-away food has become increasingly pervasive in this modern world. First and foremost, it is due to the improvement in quality of life. People nowadays do not have to worry much about the insufficiency of food supply because food is manufactured widely all over the world to meet the higher demand of residents at a relatively low cost. Thus, a large number of buyers tend to buy excessive amounts of food without finishing it, leading to a waste of leftovers. Furthermore, the lower cost of food is one of the key culprits of this trend. It can be explained by the fact that with advanced technology, farmers can have a higher yield crop, leading to food sold at a reasonable price in markets and restaurants. This also enables people to buy a surplus amount of food despite their real needs and fail to finish all before it expiry dates. As a result, this can lead to a massive quantity of food irresponsibly thrown away.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to alleviate this problem. The first solution would be that the government should run anti-food waste campaigns to raise consumers’ awareness about the negative impacts of food waste properly. Acquiring a basic knowledge about the consequences of food disposal on the environment and their daily lives, people are more aware of becoming conscious consumers and mindful eaters. Moreover, applying a surcharge for consumers who do not finish food in food service operators is also an efficient measure. A good example in this case is Dokki - one of the most well-known food chains serving Korean food in Viet Nam. They have the policy that if customers’ remaining food contains more than 20% of the food they have taken, they will have to pay an extra fee of 30 dollars for their wasted food. This forces customers to raise awareness of the amount of food they should order.

In conclusion, it is apparent that better life and a decrease in food price have contributed to the escalating amount of wasted food nowadays. Therefore, potent steps need to be taken not only by propaganda campaigns from the government but also by extra charge policy of the restaurant. It is predicted that this joint effort can successfully combat the problem in the near future.