Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that companies have prioritized candidates’ degrees over their life experience and personalities during the recruitment process. There are two main reasons for this trend, and in my opinion, its disadvantages considerably outweigh the advantages.

I understand why some recruiters consider candidates’ academic degrees to be the most essential criterion when they look for new employees. First, academic qualifications speak a volume of candidates’ knowledge. In fact, when they pursue higher education, they have to study a wide range of academic subjects and do a lot of training sessions as well as exams. This provides them with a mountain of understanding about the fields they work for after graduation. Second, in some specialized jobs such as teachers, or doctors, academic qualifications are reliable evidence to showcase a major-related grasp of candidates. This means they are skillfully and carefully trained to prepare for their career prospects when they are still at university or institutions.

Personally, I hold a strong belief that this trend does more harm than good. One of the most significant disadvantages is that companies are more likely to miss potential candidates if they put too much focus on formal education background. More importantly, life experience and characteristics practically help when it comes to dealing with unexpected situations such as customers’ complaints. Another disadvantage to consider is if employers seek candidates with certificates solely, it would lead to some qualification-related issues like fake bachelor’s degrees in the job-hunting market. To be more specific, some candidates would buy degrees illegally to be qualified for vacancies and pass the CV testing round.

To conclude, although possessing a degree is of great importance, I do not think selecting candidates should hugely depend on this.