Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that whether most people have not cared about the true meaning of festivals or not. Instead, they only focus on their enjoyment on these special occasions. Personally, I strongly think even though festivals like this are all about enjoyable moments to some people, the reasons for these are still held rigidly in their deep heart.

On the one hand, it is true that traditional or religious festivals act as a means of relaxation and releasing stress. In fact, we are living in a fast-paced world where people are usually snowed with their deadlines and heavy workload. Therefore, they try to take advantage of these special occasions as much as they can to recover from all stresses and pressure from work. They only pay their attention to fulfill their dreams which they cannot do during the rest of a year. For example, on Tet or Lunar New Year, Vietnamese people usually put their work aside and enjoy their moments with their beloved people like family members or lovers. This occasion provides people with a golden opportunity to have a family reunion and share all their achievements of the last year to strengthen their family relationship.

On the other hand, I still hold a firm belief that people still know the true meaning of festivals very well besides the purpose of enjoyment. First, people in some countries which are rich in cultures and customs such as Vietnam still uphold traditions very rigidly and tend to pass these long-lasting cultures to younger generations through the stories and historical lessons they tell on a daily basis. So, the reasons for such festivals are very well-known to the general public. Second, some regions still assist their followers with the basic knowledge of their background. Thus, these religious occasions are regarded as a chance to show their respect to their religions and pray for the goods.

In conclusion, it seems to me while people somehow concentrate on their pleasure on these festivals, they still keep in mind the true meaning.