Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, where just about everything is more convenient and accessible because of the advances of technology, across all the sectors of society, it is almost good as saying that there are any disadvantages with the use of technological advances. However, no matter how far technology has taken humans, no matter how our lives are a whole lot easier due to technology, there are still disadvantages accompanying this level of access.

For instance, because of technology, there is less value in human jobs since machines are able to provide the tasks that human can. For business owners, this may be an advantage since this will provide cost efficiency because there will be fewer people who needs to be paid for labor.

Perhaps, another disadvantage is increased dependency on machines, which promotes laziness in people. Since our machines and gadgets can do most of the work for us, we tend to be dependent on these modern tools. An example would this is the direct access to the internet in mobile phones, we do have a huge advantage to this, like quick access to information. Social media, empowered communication and improved interactions via the world wide web. This, however promotes less face-to-face interactions. Instead of going to library to look up needed information, we can already access everything in just a few clicks using our mobile phones. In return, too much dependency on modern technology has given us health problems as well, such as obesity, and new diseases, where a large chunk of today's population is affected.

But, no matter how we look things, technology will always overcome its disadvantages by providing more. It helps us discover new medicine to prevent and treat different kinds of diseases. An example would be vaccines, which prevents a large number of deadly diseases such as Dengue Fever and Meningococcemia. Another advantage is improvements in housing, lifestyle, travel and convenience in education which also encourages innovation and creativity.

Although technological advancement may have its flaws, it is without a doubt essential in today's modern world. All of the disadvantages would seem miniscule when compared to the many benefits that technology has given us. In overall, technology is the bread and buller of today's generation, and without it, living would not be as easy.