Nowadays there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages or environmental problems associated with this?

With increase in pace of time, a man changed his life tremendously. He has progressed from walking barefooted in the jungles to first step on the moon. Nevertheless, there are some issues which remains irrevocable and as complex as ever. For instance, given topic asserts that, are there more merits of private car ownership rather than its demerits? Through this essay, I shall explore the dimensions of this topic with some examples and assertions.

First step to understand that why some people argue that the benefits outweigh its disadvantages? The prominent reason for believing this is time saving. Similarly, Private car ownership gives the facility for driving to office on time. Thus, if people will take public transportation such as, bus it will be difficult for them to reach office early because bus stops at different bus stations which can delay us to office time. Good illustration of this is, in a recent survey of indian multinational company shown that most of the employees come late to office because they do not have personal car and get late in public transportation due to traffic.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make opposing case. It is often argued that in fact, if people will have more private cars than there will be more pollution. People often have this viewpoint because, pollution is one of the major issues of the economy. Moreover, it is harmful for everybody and also inclines amount of diseases. However, environment is also polluted because of plethora of vehicles which work either from petrol or diesel. Both petrol and diesel engines produce toxic emissions by burning the fuel, while due to that there is enhancement in pollution which destroys the atmosphere level as well.As a result, it is a reason for global warming.

As we have seen, there are number of answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that, there are some critical disadvantages of private car ownership rather than its advantages. As we all know that, life of an individual is more important than time saving.