Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have long been concerned about the phenomenon of headlines being dominated by negative news. Some considered this journalism tendency to be of tremendous detriment to individuals and society. While I agree with that opinion in substance, I also think that there are some objective reasons behind this trend.

To begin with, a portion of journalist might claim that there are compelling reasons for an immense amount of negative news, one of which is to keep audiences vigilant of threats lurking around. In particular, coverage on the high rate of home intrusion crimes in an urban area would motivate residents of this city to install safeguarding equipment, thereby better protecting their family members and properties from such jeopardies. Moreover, this depressing slant in journalism is believed to spring from the public’s hunger for thrilling as well as bad news. It is even argued that in many cases, audiences have proactively searched for articles with negative headlines.

However, it is indisputable that constant exposure for negative content would be detrimental for people in many ways. It is scientifically proven that depressing or thrilling content triggers human body to release a chemical that weakens the immune system and inhibits the production of growth hormones. As result, it would cause a state of chronic anxiety, stress, and fatigue for news-consumers.

In addition, bad news fed to people also undermines the normal cognitive status of their brain, predisposing them to misjudge and react irrationally to events in real life. . It is also worth mentioning that in most cases, news-consumers has little to nothing to do with such information, though still be negatively influenced by it.

With regard to the society, since people are susceptible to negative information, the pervasive presence of bad news is claimed to spread and magnify fears, angers rapidly in large scale, thus catalyzing social ramifications.

In conclusion, I personally believe that while there are some reasons for the prevalence of bad news on all means of media, the adverse impacts on people’s physical and mental health and on the society cannot be negated.