Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, the issue of media reports and news highly controversial due to their choices. There has been a remarkable increase in the number of people who believe that to focus on problems instead of positive developments is perilous for both society and citizens. This essay will delve both sides of this view before drawing a reasonable conclusion. In my opinion, media employees such as journalists or TV channel reporters should be balanced concerning their reports.

Admittedly, after decades of speculation, sociologists now have fairly accurate information concerning the negative effects of watching or reading bad news on society and people. Perhaps the main disadvantage of this situation is that problems and emergencies might create detrimental effects on individuals’ psychology through media. A good illustration of this is that citizens who suffer from anxiety become more bored, depressed and even isolated owing to these news. Secondly, if media focus on problems rather than positive news, the productivity of society might decrease, which in turn leads to social problems, such as lack of communication. Thus, media managers should be prudent concerning their main subjects because this situation might be perilous on not only individuals but also society.

Despite these arguments, benefits of focus on reality should not be underestimated. The primary reason why media ought to be focus on problems is that citizens can easily cope with complex issues thanks to these real news. According to a report published by BBC Turkey, people who live in Istanbul listen to radio in order to learn about traffic jam on the the main bridge. Even though the traffic jam is a serious problem, it should not be underestimated by the media. Furthermore, if economy channels provide more accurate information concerning the economy, managers spend money on more appropriate sectors. Hence, positive aspects of focus on emergencies and problems cannot be denied.

In conclusion, my personal view is that media should not focus on neither problems nor positive developments. These areas should be balanced by media employees and managers. However, it must be said that the decision as to whether which side of this view is more useful must be taken in the context of the entire society.