Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

The advancement of technology has affected human life in every aspect. This case is also influencing into people’s social life particularly in a communication way. People tend to ignore the essential of interactions; therefore, they lose their relationships with each other. However, I personally believe that the development of technology will bring greater effects to social life if we use it wisely.

Technology has changed the way of people to build a relationship. The distance is no longer an obstacle today; thus, we can easily meet people around the world and interact with them. Not only that, but also we could create myriad of new friends in single time without needing to physical contact. Facebook; for example, providing features suggestion friends which encouraging people to meet new friends that rely on similarities of common interests and hobbies. Consequently, people tend to make new relationships which are based on virtual. Research carried out by statistics centre in Durham shows that the plenty of young people spent a lot of time with their virtual friends such as chatting than the real friends.

Apart from those reasons, technology has successful encouraged people to maintain their relationships. One reason for this is that there are many ways to keep contact with each other such as telephone, instant messenger, and internet. A further reason is that technology leads the cheaper of communication and unconsciously it raised the frequently people's interactions which are the key factors of strengthening friendships. Skype application; for instance, helping people to stay contact through video call when their friends have been moved to other location. Hence, the relationships with old friends are no longer break up due to the distance problems.

All thinking considered, although there are negative impacts to the way of people’s communication. It is undeniable that the advancement of technology has biggest contribution to maintain people's interactions.