Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

It is evident that all kind of relationship have been influenced by technology in variety of ways. This essay will outline the main positive and negative aspects of this.

The principal way in which relationship have been affected by technology is that nowadays it tends to be at distance rather than to be face-to-face, which are very important on a personal level to human beings. The social networks, as Facebook or Twitter, have contributed to revolutionize the relationship. If people develop the majority of their relationship online, they could have some problems to be part of society. A great from reality is also caused by technology. Many young people, for example, live with a smartphone on their hands all day long. In this way they don’t realize what happens around them even when they are with friends or with other people.

However, despite these negative aspects, the quality of long-distance relationship has been improved by the advent of the internet. The internet has very simplified the work relationship. For instance, the business owners can work at home with their PC and can attend a meeting without making many kilometres to achieve the office in a foreign city. Not only this, the online instant messaging, like WhatsApp, has improved the communication, for example, between parents and sons who study abroad. Based on this prospective, technology has influenced relationship in a positive way.

In conclusion, technology has brought a positive development in ways people interact with each other. Overall, the negative aspects have been outweighed by those positive, such as shorten the commute with loved ones, or in the job world to plan the meeting.