Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

The growing traffic and pollution are two main problems affecting our country. Some people believe that increasing the price of petrol is the best solution for that. Although I agree that the rise of price of petrol could solve in part these problems, I believe that some kind of vehicles could suffer from that.

On the one hand, nowadays there are an increasing number of cars and means of transport. If we look the statistics, it is evident that for each person there are at least two cars. If the price of petrol increases, many people are discouraged to get a car or bus, because, for example, bus ticket price increases too. In this way, they probably use a bike or even they go on foot. It also might be good for health.

On the other hand, a big number of special means of transport could suffer from an increasing price of petrol. If the price of petrol rises, some vehicles, like those of emergency, could have some problems. Because of this kind of vehicles depends on government, may be possible a tax increase, which has a negative impact on society. For instance, if the price of petrol for the ambulance increases, the government is forced to increase taxes, because it can’t limit the service only in particular cases.

To conclude, though I agree that increasing the price of petrol might solve traffic and pollution problem, I believe that there are more other measures to solve these problems, without to suffer the most important vehicles of country. One of these measures, may be the use of electrical cars or buses, or even bikes.