Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

With the development of modern society, a greater amount of trash is created through our daily activities. This essay will try to explain how it happens and what the authorities can do to solve the problem.

To begin with, one of the main reasons is the growth of the petroleum industry which has developed for over a hundred years and has created the advanced technology, allowing huge number of petroleum products can be provided to customers with extremely low cost. Hence, today people can enjoy the convenient life with plastic products such as plastic bags, air-conditioner or televisions, etc. Nevertheless, the petroleum products also contribute the majority of the garbage produced by human beings, creating serious problem to wield life. For example, sea mammals such as whales and sea turtles cannot distinguish the difference between plankton and plastic bags and may swallow them together as food, causing these creatures dead in digestive difficulties.

To solve this problem, one of the short-term actions need to be done quickly is limiting the usage of petroleum products in economic activities. For instance, authorities can place extra tax on products which contain plastic, making it be too expensive to for consumers to purchase. In addition, building an efficient recycling ecosystem is another option for governments; it can reduce the consumption of raw plastic material and prevent more trash flowing into nature. In long-term, the officers should formulate policies that encourage all industries to look for more environmentally friendly resource to replace the petroleum material.

In conclusion, I believe the priority to solve the problem of the growing amount of garbage is to reduce the usage of petroleum products. In short-term, government can increase the tax on plastic related product and construct efficient recycling ecosystem and look for the substitutions that are more environmentally friendly in long-term.