The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years.

What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

Elders, always complain to the young generation that they are not reading enough. These complaints also occurred in my life when my teacher shed light on me to understand the deepest meaning and great advantages of reading books in whole life period. Until the moment, I was one of those youngsters who get lazy when reading and preferred advanced technology over books. Hence, based on my journey of reading, I found the root cause of insufficient reading trends and some methods to make the public aware of reading.

Firstly, it is true that we are living in the modern world with unpredictable technological advancement that challenges us to be smarter than ever in history. Yet, acknowledgment is not relevant to the technology advancement, only self-motivation and diligence is the way to broaden our knowledge horizon. In this distracting society, people tend to fall into a trap while following along knowledge journey, by spending unconscious time in social network platforms or video games and when we finally get out of the trap the possible time has already wasted. For example, my younger sister limited her social hours by one hour per day, but after watching interesting videos in continuous order, she claimed that 5 hours were spent. Therefore, wasting time on unnecessary things is one of the biggest reasons why we are not reading enough.

Secondly, the obvious solution is limiting the social network time but if the person is not truly aware, it’s hard to follow the strict rules. For this reason, helping society being aware of reading books is the first step to follow. For example, spreading the advantages of reading by the peers is the most efficient way because teenagers and children easily follow others. Another solution is the parent’s effort to encourage their children to read more by rewarding or reading for them. I use this technique with my daughter by reading at least three books for a week and at the same time, showing the example of reading by myself.

In conclusion, it is not children’s fault not reading enough, but also parent and society should engage in encouraging reading by the effective way including advertising in society or showing the example. Besides, understanding the root cause is the first to step to follow.