In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

Disucss both these views and give your own opinion.

As 21 century continues to unfold, some wealthy countries are becoming worried about climate changes and would argue that effective measures should be taken in order to survive our planet. So, one of these considerable changes is upgrading public transportation. Although people claim that construction of more efficient and faster railways are more likely to be beneficial, others opine that refreshing current public transportation should be any government a priority. In my view, public transports, which need to be referbished, help urban dwellers to meet their daily needs in the various aspects.

On the one hand, some authorities together with environmentalists believe that state-of-the-art railways have significant role to play ranging from enhancing individuals well being to decline the destructive factors, putting our environment on the verge of damage. Furthermore,since technological advances have arisen such as high-speed and environmentally friendly trains which are able to transfer great deal of travellers and goods not only domestically but also inter continental faster than ever before. However, these new high tech procedures pose financial burden on governments but it is worth it in the long run.

On the other side of spectrum, opponents would argue that public transportations even in high developed countries are not as sufficient as they ought to be. Therefore, government funding should be diverted into public transports, especially in mega cities with ever increasing population. Moreover, they need constant protection and reviving, otherwise poeple will lose their enthusiasms in order to use them regularly.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments,it is hard to ignore the role of quality railways but it does not seem sensible, spending billion dollars on railways, while cities transportation suffers from enormous difficulties which keeps citizens away from using them and consequently, lead to wide array of ecological and traffic issues.