In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both these vi

Nowadays, our life has changed from our ancestor's style and in this modern life, we need some kind of supports, especially from mobility aspects. It is because people become more mobile and active rather than in previous decades. It might be the reason that some people believe to spend large money on new line constructions, which connect different cities, to bolster up the human activities, whilst others think that it is better to use the fund for improving the existing public transports. Therefore in this essay, I will examine both the views and provide a plausible conclusion.

To begin, new rail lines might suit for busy people such as businessman or women. It is because they have dense schedules in different areas. Addition of new lines might have a sophisticated technology that made transporting matters more efficient, convenient and faster. For example, an old train may take 7-8 hours for a journey from Amritsar to Delhi, while a Vande Express (High Speed Train) can take only 4 hours. Hence, this technology can support the modern and busy people to move from one place to another in an efficient way.

On the flip side, not every person support this ideology. It is because there is group of people, who supports that the public funds should be spent on fixing the previous public transports. It might be true as some of the old transportations are still fully functional and only need a little maintenance to be able to accommodate the citizens activities again. For instance, in Pakistan there is a busy way, it has been operated in a decade, but since last year, it began to have many engine problems. Regarding that matter, we can choose to make the repairment work done than buying the new one. Nevertheless, in a short term period, it will start to break down again and if you can sum up the money used for several repair work, it can cost a whole new bus, which is more worth.

In a nutshell, new lines may give some people the opportunity to save a plenty of time and the substantial thing, their time can be allocated to take care some of their business, which what they want, whereas fixing the existing transportation can not fully support our new modern life. Hence, in honest opinion, I would choose that public money should be spent on a new railway that adapts the new technology to adjust to our recent situation.