In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.`

In this increasingly integrated world, the demand for transportation between places has been increasing dramatically over the past few years, resulting in the need for better infrastructure. Many people, therefore, claim that we should invest in the construction of new railway lines for high-speed trains; while others hold the belief that focusing on improving the existing public transport is of greater importance. This essay will look into both sides of the argument and finally present my viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to say that we should spend more money on building modern railway lines. An obvious advantage is that such trains are able to carry more passengers at once, thus reducing the number of trips required, compared with other means of transport. Furthermore, since very fast trains take far shorter amounts of time to move between destinations, it will save a lot of valuable time for users and enable them to spend it on other crucial tasks. In terms of environmental impact, up-to-date trains also gain quite a competitive advantage over others owing to the fact that they mainly rely on electricity and magnetism to operate, greatly reducing emissions of carbon dioxide and other pollutants.

On the other hand, existing public transport also needs to be taken into consideration and upgraded. One of the reasons for this is the availability of these infrastructures, as they are already built all across the country. Once they are improved, these vehicles could be easily used my members of the public, while the construction of new railway lines may require more vacant space and their new routes are likely to be inconvenient for the inhabitants who are already used to a repetitive itinerary.

To sum up, despite some of the initial difficulties that we may face in the early stages, I believe that constructing state-of-the-art train lines will definitely prove to be an efficient investment in the long run. However, judging by the fact that this proposal costs huge sums of money to carry out, we will need a lot of support and encouragement from the citizens to initialize it.