In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions regarding this issue whether spending a lot of money on new railway lines is essential or it

should be spent on public transport. According to surveys both building railway lines and facilitating current public transport

can be necessary. Both views will discuss and an opinion will be given at the end.

Some argue that building new railway system is more important than improving public transport due to the fact that fast

trains are new technology that excel people’s life. Therefore, new railway lines are necessary to save people who spend

most of their time on trains travelling to different cities. For example, in Iran with old rail way line the distance between

Tehran to Mashhad was 8hours and now with the new railways line and fast trains is about 5 hours.

Despite the argument mentioned above, opponents believe that improving public transport is more important than building

new railway system. Firstly, most of the people use public transport everyday more than those who use trains; therefore, it

is more necessary to enhance public transport facilities. For instance, in cities like Delhi, Moscow and London 60 to 70% of

people use public transport daily. Secondly, the quality of air is in dangerous situation in many countries because of traffic

and overcrowded streets. If public transport improves more people will use it and consequently air pollution will decrease.

The most obvious example is Tehran that most of the citizens prefer to use their own private vehicle instead of public

transport that is too crowded and it is not enough for the population.

In conclusion, both new railway lines and enhancing the remaining public transport is essential, it is considered

progressing public transport is more necessary than constructing new railway lines.