In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, transportation has become an essential part of everyday life. It is often said that the government should invest a huge amount of money in building new railway system between cities; however, others believe that it is better to allocate national budget to upgrade present public transport. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and provide an overall opinion.

There is a wide range of reasons why people believe that cities need new roads for high-speed trains. Perhaps the main reason are in favour of the construction of new railways is that it enhances the economic growth. This is because fast trains can transport a large amount of goods between cities quickly, which reduces transport cost. A further point in favour of building new railway systems is that it can reduce traffic jams in cities. The main reason for this is that unlike buses, locomotives carry hundreds or even thousands of passengers; therefore, it reduces the number of private vehicles that people use.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that government budget should be used to improve public transport. The primary reason for this is that it is cheaper than new railway system construction. For example, the authority may repair the old buses and install them with modern technology equipment at an affordable price, while the government pay large sums of money to construct new railway system. Secondly, it reduces air pollution. This is because people may use high-quality public transport instead of driving their own vehicles, which leads to a decrease in the volume of cars and motorbikes.

In conclusion, this is a topic which raises strong passions on both sides of the argument. Having considered both sides of the issue, I would argue that it is necessary to use national budget to improve the current public transport infrastructure. If the public transport becomes better and safer, it can reduce traffic congestion to a great extent.