In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding high-speed trains among cities. Several folks state that governments ought to spend a large amount of income on building fast trains, while other people claim that this money would rather spend on the improvement of previous public transport means. In this essay, I will negotiate both views and state my own opinion.

On the one hand, some people believe that the construction of high-speed trains will contribute to more safety and efficiency in our day-to-day lives. The strongest argument is that commuters working in other cities could enter and leave cities much faster at peak hours by using fast trains. For example, inhabitants have never faced traffic congestion in Switzerland since the key transport mode among cities is high-speed trains. In the same way, conductors of fast speed trains are professionals. Consequently, the probability of accidents has decreased in the roads, as well as has declined traffic jams during rush hours because of well-qualified drivers.

On the other hand, several people suppose that governments have to care more concerning the modernisation of previous public transport. First of all, authorities might renovate paths and roads, update public transport means, such as buses, trains and ferries. In addition, if power institutions industrialise the existing public transport system by decreasing the price of tickets, it will be more affordable for ordinary folks. For example, over the last few years, the government of Estonia has invested a large amount of money to the public transport system in the capital making all public transport means free to inhabitants.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that the construction of fast speed trains and the development of public transport both are beneficial and important in trying to make a more convenient and effective travelling between cities.