The number of people interested in cosmetic surgery is increasing in order to improve their physical appearance Why do people do operations to change the way they look Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Cosmetic surgery in this day and age is hotly-debated topic that often divides opinion. People can surrender themselves to a cosmetic surgeon's scalpel due to numerous reasons. However the drawbacks of cosmetic surgery cannot be overlooked.

First of all, it is worth considering the reasons for which people modify their looks with the help of cosmetic treatments. First reason is perhaps a person who cannot stand facing mirror and in low self esteem due to his/her own appearance can opt for plastic surgery and boost the confidence. Secondly there are plethora of occupations that demand impeccable beauty for instance Air-hostess and actors in glamour world, need to have a perfect look in order to be in a lime-light.

Furthermore, Plastic surgery can play a crucial role in restoring the actual look if someone is a victim of a major accident.

On the flip side, drawbacks of cosmetic treatments also cannot be ignored as they are loaded with ample chemicals and even steriods. Frequent use of such harmful chemicals can lead to skin diseases and cancer in a long run.

To sum up, cosmetic treatments can be a blessing for some but can also bring negative effects.