Obesity in children is increasing health problem in Australia by 33% of them are suffering from it. Schools are responsible to monitor their students' eating and exercising habit.

To what extend do you agree?

The obesity rate in children is the omnipresence heath epidemic not only in Australia with the booming number of obese kids. Schools are responsible to control eating and exercising regime of their students; however, I partially agree with this perspective as the responsibility is well shared with parents to achieve remarkable results.

As far as schools are concerned, children spend their vast majority of time in schools. In fact, teachers are excellent at educating them the significance of healthy diet and exercise. In order to improve the trend, many schools have started serving healthy lunch options to avoid them to consume unhealthy food, not only it but also they have initiated compulsory exercise period, which includes yoga, swimming, running, and many more. In short, schools are contributing by adopting these innovative ideas in practice even though it is insufficient to achieve a drastic change.

To get the desirable improvement, apart from the education system, we need parents to be involved. To inspire children at schools only is not enough; hence, parents can make difference by avoiding unhealthy food, using more fresh ingredients and reducing the availability of snacks which are high in salt and sugar. Another positive approach is physical activities as these can make body to burn calories and decrease the weight. The parents’ role is only to push their kids to participate in any activities on a daily basis that can be anything from outdoor games to cycling. Obviously, these two approaches are enough to improve consistently.

Overall, it is beneficial that schools start taking positive steps to combat this complication although, the involvement of parents is needed. Hence, the collaborative contribution from both brings the number of obesity down.