The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations in modern life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a world where culture is given of much importance, the advice of the elderly has been beneficial in guiding younger generations’ succeed in later life. Some people argue that the traditional ideas of the elderly about life are advantageous for one’s succession, however, others think that these ideas mostly are obsolete and are no longer applicable nowadays. While I agree that some ideas should not be longer followed, I also believe that there are some traditional beliefs that people have to put much importance.

On one hand, some beliefs and traditions are manipulative of younger people’s lives, particularly a student’s life. For example, grandparents and parents tend to dictate to their children what kind of profession they should be choosing later in life. In addition, fixed marriage is still very common as the parents are taking authority in choosing a spouse for their children. Moreover, women as being the homemaker and men being the family provider is still a stereotyped belief for many, these days. Having said all of that, these beliefs should be forgotten and should no longer be practiced as these are life ruining and a person’s right of choice is being disrespected.

On the other hand, there are some beliefs that are considered life improving rather than life ruining. For instance, in the Philippines, where a family takes pride in taking care of the elderly and are giving value to close family ties, sons and daughters even after getting married take charge in taking care of their older parents. Moreover, gestures of respect when approaching the elderly like kissing, hugging and bowing to them are undeniably a wise practice to continue. Furthermore, the first child who has been raised to finish studies, take over with the responsibility of sending their younger siblings to school if the parents could no longer be able to, is another profound family tradition that has to continue these days.

In conclusion, while many of the beliefs of the elderly are considered life ruining and are no longer applicable these days, some beliefs are still to be given value and are admittedly still helpful as for the improvement of good quality family relationships and respect. Having that in mind, in my perspective, traditions and beliefs are to be decided whether to be forgotten or to continually be put in practice depending on what these beliefs could be brought to the life of people.