one of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, we can see many development in medical areas which resulted in reduction deaths caused by disease. We are now capable of curing many illnesses that were deadly before or increasing the survival rate. Some disease even had been wiped out completely due to proper vaccinations. All of this achievements seem great but could this have some hidden indirect negative effects that we can not see in first glance?

Natural selection, the main mechanism underlying evolution, works by removing the weak and giving more reproductive chances to strong. So if there were no medication against different diseases many people would have died (like what happened in the case of black plaque and so on), but the remaining population would have been resistant to the pathogen and passing this resistance to their children. By curing all or most of the patiants we are inhibiting this natural procedure from happening.

On the other hand by increasing the life expectancy, we are reducing the death rate while birth rate remains the same or even gets higher. Consequently, the population will grow more and more and since we have limited resources this will cause shortage in food, energy and many other disadvantages.

Now, the important point is to demonstrate if these possible problems outweigh the benefits or not. Personally, I think it is immoral not to use the current technology and knowledge for saving lives. Instead, we need to find solutions for the other issues it may cause, like expanding and resources and developing better medicine as the pathogens evolve.