how should we ensure that television is a positive influence in the life of children?

Nowadays television and its various programs are a main source of entertainment. Family members spend couples of hours on watching television either separately or together. It is easily accessable to children so we need to be careful with it.

First of all we have to be cautious about the material shown in the programs they watch. It must be suitable for their age. Too much violence or inappropriate sexual content most likely will have negative effects on their mental health. Parents need to make sure the show fits to their child's age. They should check what kind of believes and morals these shows are teaching to the viewers too. For example, some part of the show might be offensive toward a group of people and we don't want our children to act rude or be mean to others. Instead we could find movies that will teach them morals and good behaviour and have pleasant impact on their personality.

Parents should also control the amount of time their child spends on in front of a TV. This could affect their eyesight. Plus, it must be a balance between watching TV and other activities. Remaining seated for long periods may result in physical and mental health issues like social isolation (they watch tv instead of playing outside with friends) and obesity.

In summary, television is a useful tool of entertainment and even learning. But it might cause some unwanted result spacially on younger people who we can inhibit by controlling the type of shows they watch and managing the amount of tv watching time and outdoor activities.