One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

Over the last hundred years medical scientists have been working on improvements in health care system. As a result, currently people at average are living much longer than couple centuries ago. There are several positive developments connected with the higher life expectancy, such as more time for spending it with relatives and for achieving targets. However, I believe that some drawbacks could outweigh advantages and should be considered.

First of all, the humanity always has been searching ways how to prolong life. Reasons for it are versatile and depend on individual circumstances, but in general a great deal of people hold the belief that additional years could help them to achieve desired goals, such as visiting places, where they have not been before, or earning more money for grandsons. In addition, overwhelming majority of people being at death door consider if they had few more years they would spend it with relatives.

Nevertheless, there are two major disadvantages of longer average lifespan. The main point is connected with the fact, that elderly people are receiving welfare and individuals who are in work age should pay higher taxes in order to cover those contributions. For example, in Japan over last twenty years the proportion of retired people has rose to approximately 52% of all citizens and the government was forced to increase pension tax, which is a burden on work force. The second drawback is lower life quality after 60 years, mainly because of deterioration of internal organs, as a result, a great deal of old people suffer from age illnesses, therefore, they spend time on treatments instead of either achieving goals or communicating with relatives.

In conclusion, even though there are some advantages of living longer, in my opinion disadvantages outweigh positive consequences due to lower life quality of elderly people and high governmental expenses connected with paying welfare to retired persons.