The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that there is one way to reduce the dangers for drivers is to give punishments which are stricter on driving violation. This essay disagrees with this perspective because people have a tendency to do opposite when they are forced to do something and governments can launch campaigns to enhance resident’s awareness instead of setting higher punishments.

The first reason why governmnets should not put higher punishments is people don’t want to do what they are forced. The higher punishments may increase the frustration in each people, so that they tend to break the rules even though they know it is not good and they may have to pay punish charges. For example, acrossing the red lights is offenses and if we don’t wait for the lights, we will fines a big amount of money, but the fact that many people across the lights whenever they can.

The another main reason why stricter pinishments should not be applied is that it is not the only way to increase safety for drivers, governments can launch campaigns to increase citizen’s awareness. The principal concept in these campaigns is about the consiquences of breaking the rules in both law and medical perspective. This way may be a long term policy but it will change people’s mind. For instance, in 2007 Vietnam’s government launched the campaign to encourage residents to wear helmets while driving but it had not a big affect at an early stage. However, 3 years later, most of Vietnamses wore helmets in road.

Setting higher punishments when breaking the traffic rules is not the only way to keep safe for drivers because people don’t want to be forced to do something, they tend to do the opposite and governments can achieve their purposes by launching campaigns to change people’s mind.