the only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is true that stricter punishments will deter many motorists from driving dangerously and carelessly on the roads. However, I strongly disagree that this is the only way to improve road safety because there are alternative measures which would also be effective.

Stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent, so that motorists will think twice before committing traffic offences. It is offen forgotten that motoring offences are, in fact, crimes. The full weight of the law should be applied in imposing a range of non-custodial sentences, such as heavy fines, and the confiscation of driving licenses. The letter of the law must be strictly implemented, banning offenders from the roads so they will no longer pose a danger to other road-users, including pedestrians. Those who drive while intoxicated should serve a prison sentence, as is sometimes imposed in the UK, because they endanger innocent lives.

While harsh penalties for offenders should be high on the government agenda, there are other steps which national and local authorities should take to improve road safety. Firstly, installing speed cameras has made drivers aware of the need to adhere to speed limits. Many authorities around the world have adopted this very cost-effective measures. secondly, traffic calming measures have succeeded in reducing the number of accidents, especially in built-up areas. Finally, it is necessary to adopt a policy of conducting regular vehicle inspections, at authorised centres, to avoid accidents caused by mechanical failures.

In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.