The only way to improve the safety on our own roads is to have stricter punishment for driving offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Accident rates increasing day by day due to, traffic, careless driving, poor infrastructure of roads and many more. Some believe that imposing the stern penalty on careless drivers to enhance the safety road transportation. While this approach can be proved beneficial up to some extent, this is far from being the best method. Other methods are much superior to this idea.

On the one hand, it is true that that stricter laws such as heavy fines, imprisonment and many more are the reduce the rate of accidents and traffic. For example, drinking alcohol and using a phone while driving, which leads to unfortunate incidents on roads. However, due to light punishments, people don’t follow the rules. Government authority should change the punishments into heavy fines and imprisonments, then people will consider twice before the breaking rules.

On the other hand, severe punishments are not the only way to reduce driving crimes. There are other ideas should be applied to this situation. Firstly, the government should do a campaign on safety driving which through people aware of the misfortune on roads. Secondly, the authority could make a video on awareness while driving on roads. For example, in Ahmedabad city, their government makes a rule for who is driving careless and not following the traffic rule they have to come compulsory for three days to learn driving lessons and rules in the traffic police station.

In conclusion, stern penalizing can be helpful at some extent however doing campaign and make video on safe driving would also helpful to reduce sever misfortune on roads.