Opinion

Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the data in the newspapers is useless for most people, however, there are individuals whose work is closely connected with the news. Therefore, I partially agree with above mentioned statement.

On the one hand, we cannot deny the fact that the news in the papers takes up one`s precious time. First of all, it is useless to follow the news for those who are overly busy because of their studies. For the reason that studying requires full concentration, therefore, in this case, the news can serve as a source of procrastination, which should be avoided in order to study effectively. For instance, scientists believe that students should focus on getting a better education, instead of spending their time on the news. Moreover, reading a newspaper can be quite stressful for those who suffer from particular diseases. Especially, in this vague time, millions of people are dying because of COVID-19, thus, these news about the death of millions of people can have negative psychological effect on patients. As an example, recently, it was reported that the total number of coronaviruses deaths in the US reached 664,572.

On the flip side, reading newspaper is highly important for traders and businessmen. Firstly, the future decision of traders depends on the news. In other words, they will decide whether to buy stocks or not after analyzing all the news and trends. To exemplify, Warren Buffett the millionaire always read newspaper before purchasing stock in stock market. Likewise, entrepreneurs always follow the news, because, by understanding the pressing problems, one can come up with various new business ideas. Hence, millionaires devote more time to reading the news. For example, Bill Gates spends 6 hours a day reading business magazines.

In conclusion, this essay has argued why print news is critical to many human beings on the planet. I partly agree with the statement that news has no connection to people's lives, and it is a time waste to read newspapers.