In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In recent years, traffic problems have massively increased across the globe.To tackle the alarming issues, the government has enacted many laws, among these, imposing heavy taxes on private car owners in order to have revenue that is spent on improving public transportation is an effective way.However,besides the advantages,there are some obstacles need to be taken into account.

It is clear that heavily compulsory taxes on car drivers bring a host of merits. One of the first benefits of such a measure is to reduce traffic accidents and traffic congestions. Indeed,high taxes would discourage people from purchasing cars,so to save money paying for car tax bills, family members tend to share their vehicle together instead of possesing their own car like before,which leads to the descrease not only in the number of cars in roads but also in accidents and traffic jams.Another positive effect is that this solution would encourage residents to take public transport.In fact, in most of cities even big cities, commuting by bus or train is an unfavourite choice for many due to the fact that poor conditions of these means of transport.The money that derive from car taxes would be invested in the public transports to satisty commutes’ need, which contributes to the number of users

Although this method has many advantages,there still exist some noteworthy disavantages.First of all,this may put a burden on those drivers with less money.Obviously, it is unfair for people who earn their livelihood from driving such as taxi drivers, ubers, grabs… they have to pay their main income for taxes,so they could not afford their everyday needs.Last but not least, this mesure may indirectly worsen the national economy especially automobile industry.For example, limiting the users of cars by high taxes would lose the profit of car industry. If these companies cannot make profit,they will contribute to the economy of the country.

In conclusion,imposing heavy taxes on car driver has many impacts. Local authorities must thoroughly implement policy to enhance some boons and limit some drawbacks of this solution