Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, smoking has been receiving a great deal of media attention around the world due to its substantial impacts on human well-being. Whether smoking should be forbad in public areas or not is still in controversy. In my opinion, governments must enact strict laws to put an end to smoking.

It is obvious that the detrimental effects of smoking bring to people’s life and the environment. From the personal aspect, there are a lot of pieces of evidence that smoking increases the risk of morbidity and mortality. Smokers inhale the number of toxic chemicals such as nicotine, arsenic, ammonia which cause the number of respiratory diseases or even lung cancer. It has not stopped here, the exhalation of them releases harmful substances sparking off some adverse influences on people who expose. For example, passive smokers also suffer from the same disorders as active smokers, especially, if pregnant women expose to tobacco smoke, their offspring are more likely to be born with birth defects or even die in pregnancy. From the environmental aspect, cigarette smoking triggers environmental pollution by emitting toxic air pollutants into the atmosphere. The cigarette butts also litter the environment, and its residue would seep into the soil or the rivers, causing soil and water pollution respectively. Moreover, the main ingredient of a cigarette is tobacco planted in rainforests, so the more people purchase cigarette packs, the more trees are cut down. This leads to the growth in deforestation, thus contributing to global warming.

However, it is often thought that smoking is a freedom of choice and the government would violate civil rights if they implement the smoking forbidden order. Besides, the tobacco industry revenue is accounted for the lion’s share in the GDP of nations, thus gradually diminishing poverty and enhancing residents’ living standards. These ideas are unconvincing. It is also infringed human’s right as smokers bother people nearby by cigarette’ odor and toxic that has adverse impacts on their health. Even when smokers use their cigarette at the desolate places, it also harms the environment and affects human from over the world. The reason why I disagree with the second opinion is that the budget spent on smoking-related diseases might exceed the profit they gain. Indeed, most respiratory disorders are chronic, so treatment for these diseases usually requires long-term effort and costs a lot of money. People who are suffered from these problems cannot enter the workforce to cover their lives, which becomes a burden on their family members and also the nations’economy.

In conclusion, smoking, today’s alarming problem, brings several demerits to human life. I think the government should immediately enact strict laws to prevent people from smoking. Only by doing so can humans enjoy a healthy life.