Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, there is a tendency that some languages has become dominant in the world, while others are on the verge of extinction. In my opinion, I contend that this trend exerts both positive and negative impacts on the development of nations.

It is obvious that a lingua franca brings various benefits to countries. Firstly, using an international language promotes global trade. Indeed, people with different cultural and geographical backgrounds can easily understand each other, which makes business more effective. In addition, the cost for interpretation and translation would be reduced, increasing nations’ profits. Secondly, when the language barriers are removed, people have numerous opportunities to access the unlimited resources of education from various countries, which helps them acquire the wealth of knowledge. This may assist every country build a stronger intellectual workforce, acting as the catalyst for long-term global development.

Besides the aforementioned merits, this tendency also has many drawbacks. The first demerit need to be concerned is that every nation would lose the cultural identity. The assimilation would inevitable if the dialects are less spoken. For example, in Vietnam, English has become dominant these days. Many Vietnamese citizens are able to speak English while they fail to speak the languages of minority ethics groups. This will put these languages and cultural traditions in danger of extinction. Moreover, this trend affects not only the local culture within one nation but also the civilization of mankind. If all countries no longer use their own language but use the same one, this could gradually destroy the cultural diversity of the world.

In conclusion, every coin has two sides. People need to make the most use of this trend and also have measures to protect their local languages as a way to preserve their cultural identity.