Organized tours to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

In these days, an upward trend of travelers visiting remote locations on organized tours has aroused people’s discussion. I would concede that this tendency does come with some adverse effects, yet the benefits created by it far eclipse the disadvantages.

On the one hand, this tendency certainly exerts a detrimental implication to the environment of the destination. The fact is that an increase in tourists is synonymous with a growth of trashes and garbage. nowadays, in all likelihood, not every individual can recognize that their own activities could jeopardize the environment to some extent, therefore, when travelling, people litter rubbish indiscriminately and it could compromise visited places directly. Simultaneously, there are a number of green covers in the location replacing by tourist attractions, which could lead to the negative influence on the local people’s health.

There are, however, some dazzling advantages of remote areas frequented by travelers can easily overshadow the disadvantages of that. Providing jobs and reducing unemployment is the first benefit of the trend. The in flux of tourists visit in tandem with the need of human resources in terms of service sector climbs. Thus, local dwellers could have stable income and enhance the quality of their lives. The second plus point of the type of tour is that it help the locals have an opportunity to broaden their knowledge by understanding more cultures in the world. For instance, to ethnic people in remote places, who are almost isolated from the outside world, through interacting with tourists, they could comprehend more about civilized society and gain experiences.

In conclusion, although the development of tourism in remote places could threaten its environment, this growth still brings several positive effects on the local such as declining the proportion of jobless or improving the inhabitants’ knowledge.