Overpopulation in urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that government and individuals can tackle these problems.

In contemporary society, it is claimed that excessive population in major cities has led to several issues. The following paper will be looking at the potential problems of overpopulation as well as examining measures that can be taken to alleviate the issues.

Several worrying problems can be anticipated when the number of people living in an area become overloaded. To begin with, an exceeding number of residents can lead to the lack of accommodation. To explain, as the living space in an area is limited, an enormous quantity of people, including both locals and migrants, will eventually outweigh the total area of a city. In order word, this situation can result in a surge of homeless rate because those who are from poorer background are no longer able to afford their living area. Another noteworthy issue is that overpopulated cities can witness a rise of crime rate. This is mainly because populous cities are often well developed. This means that these areas can attract a considerable number of people from a variety of backgrounds. Hence, migrants who come from undeveloped regions might bring along bad habits, such as shoplifting or even pickpocketing. Eventually, if they are unable to look for jobs in major cities, they might commit misdemeanor in hope of making money for their living.

Apart from the abovementioned issues, both government and individuals can take certain actions in order to mitigate the problems. A simple solution is that government can spend national budget in the construction of public infrastructures and facilities, especially in underdeveloped areas. In other words, newly-developed areas can attract a significant number of companies or organizations, which seek an opportunity to expand their production in other regions. As a result, the expansion of businesses can create more jobs for locals and become an encouragement for those who struggle to look for jobs in major cities to migrate. On the other hand, people can also contribute their effort in tackling problems caused by overpopulation. To elaborate, residents in a neighbourhood can become more cautious of their own safety. By carefully looking after their own properties and assets, such as locking their house when going out, this can minimize the chance for those who have a notion of committing wrongdoings. More importantly, the action can partially help reduce crime rates, especially small crimes of an area.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that overpopulation can result in the shortage of housing as well as the increase of crime rate in an area. However, while individuals can be more aware of their own safety, the government can solve the problems by investing in poorer areas to attract people in major cities