As parts of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there are various ways which students can follow to expand their knowledge. It is acknowledged that students should live in another country in a period of time to learn its language as well as its culture. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced by this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor against this claim is that students might face up with the culture shock such as language barriers, foods, strong celebrations and customs, modesty culture like clothing and the way people dress and so forth, which can let them feel disappointed if they cannot overcome these obstacles. Moreover, they might hurt themselves due to myriad negative thoughts. One example to demonstrate this view is that in 2016, a Chinese college student named Zhikai Liu committed suicide after three months studying aboard in Australia. After investigating, police found that the main reason that led to the death of this student is the high pressure of curriculum at school. Besides, he coped with a multitude of difficulties in learning English. Therefore, he was almost unable to confide in or make conversation with people surrounding. These factors resulted in his fatality. As the example reveals, students should not study aboard if they are incapable of getting over the difficulties which they might struggle with.

In addition, one explanation to argue this view is that the expenditure for a student to go aboard for studying is relatively high-priced. This is shown by the following statistics. According to the research by the International Institute of Education, the all-encompassing average cost of studying aboard in a foreign country covers around $18,000 per semester, or $36,000 per full academic year. As a result, a student might be put at the potential risk of confronting with the financial crisis if they do not carefully take this issue into consideration

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that students should not spend time in another country for these purposes because of the dangers brought up above. Hence, I totally disagree with this statement.