Nowadays media should include more good news in their publications. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In today’s world, there is a great concern regarding the news. In this day and age, it is supposed that the media should provide more good news in their publication. From my perspective, I totally agree with this view.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this statement is that bad news affects negatively on people's emotion and state of mind. In fact, studies in this field show that after being exposed to negative news reports, positive effect decreased, whereas negative affect, sadness, worries, and anxiety increased. Moreover, there are a multitude of studies which have found indirect effects on psychological distress and negative affect through an increase in stress levels and irrational beliefs or depression. For that reason, the media should show more good news to improve humankind's emotion rather than the bad.

In addition, one explanation to support this claim is that good news might strengthen our faith and hope in humanity, which can lead to a good vibe for humans. Take my mother as an example. Whenever she feels stressed with her work and wants to give up, she turns on the TV and surfs the Internet to search for the positive news. She said that reading the good news such as: good behaviour of a student of the donation to help the poor manage their lives can motivate her mood to continue her work. Furthermore, she shares the view that reading this kind of news makes her believe in the compassion of humans despite in the hectic life. As this example reveals, good news plays an important role in changing the emotion of humans. As a result, the media should project more good news in this day and age.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that good news might bring many positive aspects for human’s feelings. Therefore, the media should provide more and more good news rather than bad news in their performances.