In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

With a higher number of shopping centers nowadays, shopping becomes a daily hobby to the majority of people as compared to the past, when it seemed to be a household chore. While I believe that this trend contributes a considerable amount of money to the economy, there are also some potentially negative impacts on society in the long term.

On the one hand, shopping reflects the economic aspect of a country. In this regard, when a country is considered prosperous and developed, its citizens demand a large number of products that they desire to purchase. Taken China as an example, Chinese people love going shopping to buy the most updated technological devices because their income allows them to do so. Moreover, taxes should also be taken into account since the more they purchase, the more taxes people have to pay, hence helping governments allocate more money into other aspects of that country like scientific research.

On the other hand, higher demand for shopping leads to the growth of unreliable products. From this perspective, counterfeiting some popular products is not uncommon in our society, such as clothing, technological gadgets, and medical products. There have been several scandals about people who bought a particular medicine to cure their illness, this turned out that they could not be better but getting worse instead. In this case, advertising has played a vital role in contributing to this matter since governments have not yet established any restrictions on commercial ads.

To recapitulate, it is undeniable that the greater number of consumption people make, the higher a country's economic status is. However, some drawbacks lie within this positive trend, and untrustworthy products are just one of them. I believe in the future that governments should be stricter on the process of producing as well as the advertisement to prevent unwanted circumstances.