In the past sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break the world records These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous What message does this send to young people an

It is observed that in the past years, sports players encouraged themselves by winning a match and setting a new records, while in recent time, popularity and money is prioritise more. This trend is detrimental for youth and sports. My further explanation is elaborated below.

Play for money and fame by the players affects the mentality of the youngsters. Despite to set records or win a title for the country, the players try to earn more money and popularity, therefore, new generation players should become more money oriented and less effective towards the sports. Moreover, many players focus more on fan-following and attract young generation with their luxury lifestyle. Youngsters follow these players blindly and learn the same unethic ways to achieve popularity and money. For example, many young cricket players in my country now aiming to play in the IPL tournament for the popularity and more cash price rather than focusing to play in national team.

Besides this, this trend affect highly to sports themselves. To begin with, such a mentality of sports players should demerit the moral value of the sports. To earn more money, players sometime did unethical acts, such as, match fixing, drug consumption. As a result, standard level of games being demolished. Cricket in India, for example, many cricketers had caught to did match fixing in the past, indeed popularity of cricket gradually decreased.

In conclusion, it can be eventually commented that sports heroes diverted their goals, such a practise should harmful for next generation as well as the ethics of the games.