People are consuming more and more sugar based drinks Why What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption

The consumption of sugary drinks has significantly increased in recent years. There are a number of reasons why people keep consuming this beverage. This essay aims to discuss them and give some suggestions that would help pose a decline in sugary drinks intake

In terms of the principal reasons behind the dramatic rise in sugar-based drinks, advertising is considered to be the most influential factor. Indeed, advertisers often make exaggerating claims and send persuasive messages to people who are gullible and easily-attracted by sugar-coated words. Sugary drinks are often introduced to give instant energy boost to help people focus more effectively on their work. However, they also cause a drop in energy quickly after consumption so that they have to drink another one to get an extra energy. Moreover, sugar is so addictive that many people find it impossible to quit consuming soft drinks or other sugar-based beverages.

There are several measures that might help reduce sugary drinks intake. One way is to raise public awareness about the drawbacks of these beverages. Drinking large amounts of sugary beverages can increase the risk of gaining weight and developing heart diseases, diabetes, gouts. By organizing campaigns on all media platforms, people would be aware of these problems; therefore; they might change their types of drinks to a healthier balance. Another way is to pose a tax on such products containing high levels of sugar. In this way, people might think twice and reconsider whether or not to buy sugar-based drinks.

In conclusion, advertising and sugar are the most considerable factors that lead to a significant rise in sugary drinks. Despite this, there are many solutions for this problem such as raising the public awareness and posing a tax on these products.